top of page
Search
Colleen Briske Ferguson

Sonic, Art or Superfluous?

My computer’s desktop picture, which is the photo I used for this week's blog, is one of my favorite drawings by one of my grandsons. I love it because I can find so much in these two little stick characters. If you want to take a closer look at it for a minute to see what you can see, please do so, and then join me back here.


Of course, the first obvious “find” is: isn’t this cool – my grandson did this!! But upon first seeing it, my brain immediately registered several deeper points. Anyone looking at it would see that one of the characters is angry and one is happy. Even though the angry guy is large and red and likely to draw the attention from the other one, my eyes still traveled back to the little, blue guy who is happy. Does this mean I am happy, or that I want to be happy, or that in all of us is the desire to be happy? (Lol, am I getting too deep for you yet?)


Or does it reflect the inner workings of my grandson. Is he happy and angry? (Aren’t we all a mixture of happy, sad, angry…?) One of his aunts said they must be Sonic and the wild-tempered, easily-angered Knuckles (children’s show/game), but when she asked him if they were, he looked at her like she was nuts. (He is already a gifted artist at the age of seven and a detailed perfectionist when it comes to his drawings, and as the stick figure drawing is several years old, it is possible he didn’t want to claim it as his. I’m laughing at the sight of his distained expression.)


I feel like the drawing also shows that it doesn’t matter how big, or tall, or clever we are, the happy guy wins. He’s the guy we want to hang out with. He’ll make us smile and possibly even laugh. In fact, he’s the guy we secretly want to BE.


I also see that the happy guy is clearly not afraid – maybe he has a superpower that we cannot see, since we all have a “superpower” or trait that helps us survive and thrive. That fearlessness also draws my attention. Because don’t we all wish we could live without fear? Boldly travel this life being the person we are, doing things we might never do with fear leading our way? I do see a bit of a dare in his smile as he faces the angry guy. Hmmm…more to think about here.


I also like the little guy’s hairdo – totally messed up like many of our (my) hairdos. You know I’m being silly and yet, another lesson: Don’t stay home just because your hair is out of place. None of us are perfect. Hair, face, body, clothes…who cares? Get out there!


Knowing this grandson and his brothers fairly well, I know it could have been one of his first drawings of superheroes. The boys, this one in particular, practically live in their various superhero costumes. Sometimes inside out – and backwards – on purpose. Quirky kid, this one. But living himself! I hope he stays this way.


I could be overthinking this one, but if I’ve gotten something out of it beyond loving it for my or my grandson’s sake, then isn’t this what art is? What a thrill that even his starter pictures cause me to think, to feel, to learn – about myself, about life in general. Let’s take a closer look at what’s around us and see what we can see. And be happy! It’s clearly the best way to go. (And I’d be happy to have a little of Sonic’s speed these days!)




11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page