top of page
Search
Colleen Briske Ferguson

The Tripping of The Tongue

So, I have this extra extraordinary gift. I know others who also have it. I got mine from my mother. One of my daughters also has it. Okay, officially a stepdaughter, so maybe it's not hereditary – and I doubt it is a learned behavior pattern, so maybe it is an “I’m tired, my brain is tired, and I’m too busy” syndrome.


It happens randomly, whenever it feels like coming out. Generally, we have a good laugh, sometimes it is worth repeating or writing down, and occasionally it is perfect; like we created a catch phrase.


I will give you some examples. Welted max. Welted max? What is that, you ask? Absolutely nothing. My brain’s super power is flipping letters in a phrase to make something altogether different. It was supposed to be melted wax. Then there’s “da ganit” which was “dog gone it” (in itself an easily misunderstood, strange phrase, lol).


After a five-hour day at work, we traveled about sixty miles north to do some necessary shopping, then we stopped for dinner and did a little side shopping afterward. After we got home, I was talking about the trip and caught myself saying: “wall marking.” I do generally catch these superpowers in action and pause to figure out what came out of my mouth versus what was supposed to come out of my mouth…mall walking. No, I did not draw on a wall I was not supposed to draw on.


Then (I think this was the same day as our shopping trip) I said, “erk werly.” I kind-of like that. Erk werly. I am sure I could come up with something clever for the meaning and put it into one of my books. However, the translation for it was that I was to leave “work early.” (Oh, no! That’s pig-latin…! Lol, is that my super power?! LOL.)


As for the creating of a catch phrase: “he’s a fart smeller” was an “oops” that got a little more laughter than usual and became a purposely repeated phrase. The correct term was “a smart feller (fellow).” Then there was the “farting part” which was the “parting fart” and means you are leaving a room with a last fart send-off. Lastly, for the gas humor, we all know someone who always has to have a “farting word,” I mean a “parting word;” (as in has to have the last word) except, as in the case of the “farting part,” the word “farting” was right. Confused yet? The reason these were good catch phrases that have lingered much like the parting farts did (and beyond some of the family having their fart humor) was that they could actually be used as real phrases.

So, am I glad I have the “gift”? Bou yecha. I mean, you betcha.



17 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

1 Comment


grandmacab
Jul 28, 2023

Oh my gosh. Yes I have been doing this for many! years. But do appreciate the farting humour. Have exchanged cards chosen for this specific occurrence. Hahahaha.

Like
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page