top of page
Search
Colleen Briske Ferguson

#3 - Feeding our Souls - Forget the Diets!

So this was to be my 2nd post – a New Year's kind of message, but with the political trauma of last week, I wrote the new one instead.


Clearly, I am a writer. I’m so excited about writing something regularly, I can barely decide what to write about. That’s the way it is, you know. When you are a true writer, you write because you HAVE to write, not because you want to. Well, it mostly goes hand-in-hand for me – it’s work, but I love it, and if I’m not creating something for a long period of time, I feel it in my soul. It’s like an artist HAS to draw, a musician HAS to sing, a builder HAS to build, a whistler HAS to whistle, a tree knocker-downer HAS to knock down trees. (Yes, there is such a thing – although I expect they have an official title. I saw a master at it once. It was like watching a ballet dancer. He was ever so graceful and gentle with the long arm of his front loader – {TANGENT ALERT!}) Anyway, you get my point. We are less happy if we don’t get to do at least a little of what our soul is made of. Whatever you were created for, your soul longs to do it, create it, be it. So…what will you do this week that will feed the person you are? Paint a picture, write a poem or song, sing to your heart’s content…climb a mountain, smell the flowers, listen to waves or music or your favorite speaker…solve a puzzle, invent that thing you keep thinking about, check off something on your list, or run, or walk, or craft, or throw a football, or go fishing on a lake… Do it. Be you. If you can't do what you used to be able to do, find a new outlet for your soul. Forget the typical New Year’s resolutions like diets and feed your soul instead. It’s possible it’ll be easier to do the usual New Year’s resolutions if you’re feeding the inner you. Relax. Enjoy life. Even the parts you’re not nuts about. I have found that if I’m looking for it, good/joy can be found in pretty much everything – even if it’s just that a task is finished. I hope you can create a moment of sheer joy every week of this brand-new year.


As a tag, I’d like to applaud our frontline (health) workers who were given Time Magazine’s (2020) “Guardians of the Year” award along with Dr. Anthony Fauci. Which I think is a very cool way to describe them. Like they’re warrior Angels in the battlefield. I am continuously amazed and aware of our medical and safety people, how hard they are working, and the sacrifices they are making. You all deserve the accolades, but part of the wonder and glory of frontline folks is that they do it because they chose careers where they help people, help make life better for others. They have risen in this time of crisis to fulfill their oaths, and it is awesome to behold. Thank you to all of you!

18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page