top of page
Search
Colleen Briske Ferguson

Murphy’s Law and Technology

I must admit, it's sometimes hard to ignore that ridiculous Murphy’s Law, especially when it comes to technology. I cannot tell you how many times I go to a site to order something or to adjust or set something up and even though I generally know what I am doing (at least in these areas), it trips up all over the place and I have to get online support for help to maneuver the simplest things. It’s worse than the vacuum cord.

 

At work, I will try and get into a long-standing account to order something and the password isn’t working. Sometimes it’s because the list set up by the previous person is confusing or just plain wrong and other times it just isn’t accepting my password, and so I start the process of the “I forgot my password” – even though I didn’t. Sometimes you have to WAIT for the code or do the request a second time – sometimes IT NEVER COMES. When it does come – sometimes it works (halleluiah!!!) and other times, when I get to the next step with the code, I’ve had to redo the info page repeatedly with the same result: it froze – AFTER I put in ALL the scads of information it asked for. Truthfully. The worst time this happened, it was a two-page, info-collecting document. Plus, it had unnecessary “necessary” lines (with the all-important red asterisk/star at the end telling you it HAD to be included). Like gender. And title (Mr. Mrs., etc.) – for ordering supplies. Really? I tried another day and when the same thing happened, I finally decided I’d had enough and would only order from there when necessary and as a guest. Thankfully it was something of which I had the option to do. (Until a few weeks later, I found out you can't order as a guest and had to go through it again. Fortunately, it finally worked.)

 

The upper paragraph is just one example. I really have the worst luck with tech stuff. Does anyone else? Am I not alone in my misery? Should we set up a Tech Support Group for those suffering from the frustrations of bungled websites, quirky technology, and complicated systems? (Not to be confused with Tech Support.) (Are you confused yet?)

 

Are these just strange flukes, does Murphy’s Law really exist (lol), or are sites not being set up right, or changed too often, or getting messed up, or are they getting MORE COMPLICATED BY THE MINUTE? Are you feeling like a caged dog or like you're on an island in the middle of the Pacific Ocean?

 

Anyone frustrated yet, lol? Sorry, if I wrecked your day. Like I always say, take a deep breath, get help if you need it, and carry on. No point in letting it mess up the rest of your day. Especially if we purposely recall all the great things technology has brought us! Like zooming with our loved ones. At least, I found a smiling, happy tech picture! 😊

 

Murphy’s Law: if anything can go wrong, it will.

Colleen’s law: It’s life. Fix it and keep going. Preferably with a smile.



 


9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page