top of page
Search
Colleen Briske Ferguson

Patio Nourishment

I'm sitting on our patio with my computer on my lap for the umpteenth time this summer, feeling grateful that I have such a wonderful space to hang out in. I’m surrounded by my gardens and feeling a cool, almost-fall breeze wafting over my skin. It’s glorious. What is it about the outdoors that so feeds the soul? Is it the sounds of the wind whispering or rustling leaves, birds chirping (definitely not the traffic in the background – although the occasional lawn mower doesn’t bother me too much); or is it the sun warming my body and the fresh air in my lungs; it’s a sweet smell in northern Michigan this time of year. I look up occasionally and smile at flowers that are still thriving and growing and blooming. Before you know it, it will be a snow drift…but, although that is also beautiful, I don’t want to think about that quite yet.


I still remember my mother telling me how she had taken her aunt, who was probably in her sixties at the time, for a ride and how my mom had exclaimed over the beauty of a sunset or landscape (I don’t remember which), which had caused the aunt to suddenly realize she had never really looked at the glory of nature. I can't imagine not ever really looking at the world around me as something beautiful, because I was taught to notice and appreciate nature, to pick wildflowers, to take in our beautiful beaches and sunsets, and so much more. I have always loved the beauty that surrounds us. It feeds my soul more than I can say. (Thank you, mom.)


I, also, tried to teach my children to look at and appreciate the beauty around them, to enjoy life despite trials. I like to think I was able as a busy mom to do so. In fact, a few years back, one of my daughters returned the lesson. She leads a very busy life with lots of air travel involved, so when she gets home – or when she gets back to our home, she knows how to relax in a back yard. Our patio space had been in for a few years, but one year – it was the place to be with a cup of coffee, pj’s still on, and soaking up the restfulness on a warm summer morning. Every year since, those who can be here spend a lot of time on that patio, but it was that year when I was reminded, that even though I’m busy myself, I can still take time to sit on the patio, to soak in the flowers and sun and breeze… And now I make a point of it whenever the weather allows and I have at least a half hour to sit and ponder (pretty much most of my official work-free days).


I also believe that nature can inspire us; cause us to be creative, to see more than our wee circle of acknowledgement allows. Perhaps that is why it so speaks to us - it feeds our thoughts and hearts to create, to be free, to open our minds to new, and more, and the unknown – to make beautiful things, which in turn creates a more beautiful heart in us.


There is a lot of crap and negative and scary things in this earthly life. It is sometimes an unpleasant or difficult place to be. But let’s take the time to smell the roses, watch the sunsets, listen to the wind in the trees or feel the sun on our skin. Let’s not miss what beauty does surround us, even if we live in big cities where there might be little nature around us. We still have computer screens and tv’s that shout gorgeous screen saving pictures at us. We can see the blue sky out a window when the sun is out. There’s grass or weeds, even if it’s only a tuff in a crack in a sidewalk, and there are flowers we can purchase. Take whatever you can and appreciate the beauty that speaks to our souls. Maybe you believe in God – then it’s all a part of God’s glorious creation. His paintings. Maybe you’re an atheist; then now’s the time to see and enjoy it, since this is the only chance you’ll get! Or maybe you believe one day you will be part of it: all the more reason to be one with it now.


Go out in the world and be ready to be amazed and made peaceful.












28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page