top of page
Search
Colleen Briske Ferguson

The Things of Spring

I remember a really difficult time in my life which culminated in late winter. My heart was crushed and my life was dark and forever changed. But my children needed me, my family needed me, and I needed me, so I got out behind and gently pushed myself to new vistas. That Spring was the most difficult yet most amazing Spring I have ever experienced. Because, often out of pain comes new life, rebirthing, new perspectives, and freedom. And Spring shouts that to us every year here in Michigan. We watch the barren trees sprout fresh buds that gradually bulge and burst into leaves, getting bigger and bigger until summer surrounds us. We watch flower stems push through the earth and reach for the sun, until one day a bud appears that promises its sweet reward of color and form in its flowers. We feel the warmth of the sun gradually grow and the winds become more temperate, bringing the sweet smells of Spring with it.  And we know there is new life beyond where we are. There is promise in the future if we just keep moving forward.

 

There are winters of sorrow and pain, but if we look to the horizon with a song in our hearts and a smile ready to grow, we will know there is another spring for us coming, and we can allow ourselves to blossom into a better us, a newer us, a fuller us.

 

Let this Spring speak to you of newness, of good change, of the ever-evolving life that is ours to behold and to grasp as our own.

 

(And then, most importantly…the Dairy Queen opens…)





198 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commenti


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page