top of page
Search
Colleen Briske Ferguson

The Year of Unending Winter (or S.A.D.)



Before beginning this, I must say that this week’s projected polar vortex of hovering clouds and single and teen digits could stamp out my rays of sunlight theory…figures. Lol. But, still, something to watch for... As I’m typing the sun just peeked out…for a 20 second window…truth!


I remember the year we had Second Winter and Third Winter in April – 2019, I think. Not the usual April dusting of snow, but full-fledged winter snowfalls, which prompted me to write the following: (C.S. Lewis Narnia fans will appreciate it.)


“This spring shall forever be known as ‘The Year of Unending Winter’. The White Queen of Narnia has returned and is trying to take over our lands. I realized this morning that she must come from the lands of Glo Ball Warming. Hang in there dear S.A.D. friends; it’s bound to be over soon. There’s always a bunch of young people ready to save our country!”


S.A.D. = Seasonal Affective Disorder OR Seriously Aggravating Darkness OR Sincerely Awful Days OR Serial Ailing Depths OR…..


All kidding aside, S.A.D. is a winter depression that affects many people, some quite severely – even to the point of suicide. More than three million US cases are reported every year. This seasonal mood ailment occurs in climates where there is less sunlight – thus winter is the time of year to watch for it. If you notice – in yourself or others – unaccustomed fatigue, depression, hopelessness, and social withdrawal, please check with a doctor. There are options to alleviate the trauma of this low time. For some, it can be as simple as having a friend who makes them laugh on a regular basis or extra hugs from loved ones. For others who have it more intensely, there is light therapy (phototherapy), talk therapy, or, if necessary, medication.


I live in Michigan. Michigan winters are generally pretty cloudy and the days are the shortest throughout these months, so I was quite delighted when someone once told me that the sun comes out every day in February in Michigan, even if it’s only for a few minutes. I started watching and found it was true. In about 20 years of observing, I only noticed maybe 3 times when I didn’t see the sun come out. I assumed it was because I slept in on those days or the curtains were pulled and I missed it. I look forward to February now, even though I don’t suffer much from S.A.D. (I think we all feel it some by February, but not as true S.A.D. sufferers do.) Although February is still the sunniest month in our winters, the past few years, I’ve suspected there have been more days I’m either missing the sun or it isn’t happening as frequently – another potential “Glo Ball Warming” issue, I expect. It is still something worth passing on to our S.A.D. sufferers. A month with a decent amount of sunlight that marks the nearing of spring…assuming we don’t have any more springs like 2019! But even that year, spring came eventually. Let that be your hope. At any point during winter, spring is on its way... {There’s no way that White Witch is coming back!}


So, let’s take our vitamin D, keep track of ourselves and those around us, and if we know someone who suffers from S.A.D. - or other aliments or trials - let’s take the time to check on them. In this time of covid-19, we may not be able to visit them in person to lighten their day, but we can call and chat with them, or send them a "how are you, I love you" text. I know S.A.D. is a physical issue, but sunshine can come in different forms. Love and laughter are two of them.


The first day in February 2021. Sunshine and blue skies. :-)


10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page