top of page
Search
Colleen Briske Ferguson

Be Careful or Have Fun?

I admit it. I’m an optimist, a dreamer, and an occasional ostrich (stick your head in the sand and pretend there’s no imminent danger – has anyone actually seen an ostrich do this??? I want to! See: an optimist.). The ostrich in me usually comes out when world climates (political, etc., not weather) are escalating to a bad burst like they have been for the past few decades, and I know there is little one wee person can do but vote in the elections and survive the fallout. I do keep one eye out of the ground to be ready to “move” or “do” when I can or when I need to for survival – so half an ostrich, lol.


Of course, I’m a woman and a mother, so the protective side may seem like I’m occasionally a pessimist, and the struggle to achieve a dream can get me a little bit down for a short spell, but I will do whatever I can to achieve my dreams. I never give up on the dreams that count. That’s optimism in its true form – realistic or not. (And a big dose of “faith” for my Christian peoples!) Remember my optimistic ostrich? – but Africa is too far away, and there are inoculations, and scary animals... Plus, the dreams I still strive for are those that I can realistically achieve... I'm an optimist and a pessimist???


If you haven’t figured it out yet, my topic this week is on our pessimistic and optimistic tendencies and to have a little fun with them. The first question I have is: are optimists extroverts and pessimists introverts? I think we can safely say “no” to this question. Some introverts are positive people and definitely dreamers, inventors, etc. And some pessimists are very publicly vocal in their pessimism – annoyingly so to we optimists (and vice versa, I expect). My second question is: are pessimists realists and optimists just dreamers? Here, I say, “maybe”. Realism doesn’t always have a place in the mix of our behavior patterns, fears, etc., however – well, you’ll see when I get to the clinical descriptions for each next week. For now…a couple of fun scenarios for my visual people:


I am quite certain an optimist invented the automobile – and a pessimist thought up the seatbelt. Although, the optimist followed through with the creation of the seatbelt (as well as the auto), because the pessimist was sure it couldn’t be done or done safely. Also, the optimists drove the autos for at least three decades before the pessimists decided they were safe enough – though possibly not until seatbelts were added. For sure, the pessimists pushed the seatbelt laws into effect…if they got as far as they’d have had to get in order to push them through.


The “I can” optimist will climb to the top of a cliff to see a sunset. They will forge the path through trees or jungles or whatever! The pessimist will follow the optimist (with bug spray and a medical kit) to keep her/him from falling off the cliff in their excitement – but will remain too far back from the edge to be of any real use because they are quite certain they will both fall – and die – if a rescue is attempted. And since the optimist is unlikely to heed what the pessimist may say about safety, the pessimist knows he/she may as well stay in the safe areas – and watch the optimist fall to their doom while shaking their head with the assurance of the inevitable outcome...and maybe with a little sorrow mixed in.


Pessimists are bound to be the ones to think up guardrails for those cliff climbs, and that they should be put EVERYWHERE. But the optimists will be the ones to build them because the pessimists will think they could never achieve it, and they would never get that close to a potentially – forget potentially, just say it! – a definite danger. So, after the path is properly forged by the optimist, the optimist will be the one to follow through with the plans and make it happen. (Are all construction workers optimists?) But the pessimists will again make it a law – to save the optimists from themselves!


Of course, these silly scenarios aren’t the “reality” of any creating of glorious opportunities or the safety features that are put into effect around them. Plus, some of us – optimists as well as pessimists – are afraid of driving or heights and a myriad of other things that would change these scenarios. And what about personality traits? Golden retrievers vs. lions, beavers, or otters? There is also “men vs. women” and their natural tendencies. I’m not going down either of those rabbit holes today! Optimism and pessimism create enough trouble on their own. (Isn't it amazing that any of us get along at all?!)


Next week, I’ll cover the clinical side of these two personality traits, and we’ll see if it matches up with what I’ve written – more or less, since I was having a little fun with them. For now, let’s be kind to each other as we strive to deal with each other’s learned ways. Maybe next week will set us on a different path by understanding why we do or don’t do whatever it is we do set or don’t set ourselves out to do. Confused yet? Watch for next week’s blog!


[Just in case you misunderstood my intent today, this blog is NOT about having to achieve great things or a judgment on who has or has not achieved big things. I stand on last week’s blog that loving people is more important than achieving great worldly tasks and the like. Some of the biggest things we’ll ever do is help influence someone else to be a better, more loved person. But if you want to achieve more…read next week’s blog!]



11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page